First 5 San Bernardino Advisory Committee

The First 5 San Bernardino Advisory Committee was created to satisfy the mandate of Proposition 10 legislation. The function of the Advisory Committee is to provide information to the Commission for the use in making its policy and funding decisions.  The Committee is composed of diverse community representation reflecting the diverse backgrounds and abilities of San Bernardino County and represent different ethnic, linguistic, cultural, socio-economic, religious, geographical and/or other historically or currently under-served communities.

Advisory Committee Agendas and Minutes


Gary C. Ovitt, Chair
First 5 Commission

James Moses, Vice Chair
Child Care Resource Center

Wendy R. Alvarez, MBA
Children’s Network

Monique Amis
Department of Public Health

Cherina Betters, Ed.D
San Bernardino County Superintendent of Schools

Leslie Bramson, Dr.PH

Jonathan Byers
Children and Family Services

Amanda Garcia
Parent Advocate

Colleen A. Hancock, RD
San Bernardino County WIC Program

Hasan Hasan
Parent Advocate

George Lamb
FAITH Advisory Council for Community Transformation

Michelle Parker
Loma Linda University Children’s Hospital & Medical Center

Janki Patel
Children’s Network

Nathaniel Rodriguez
Transitional Assistance Department

Sonia Rubio
Department of Behavioral Health

Reyna Sanchez
Parent Advocate