First 5 San Bernardino Advisory Committee

The First 5 San Bernardino Advisory Committee was created to satisfy the mandate of Proposition 10 legislation. The function of the Advisory Committee is to provide information to the Commission for the use in making its policy and funding decisions.  The Committee is composed of diverse community representation reflecting the diverse backgrounds and abilities of San Bernardino County and represent different ethnic, linguistic, cultural, socio-economic, religious, geographical and/or other historically or currently under-served communities.

Applications are currently being accepted for membership to serve on the Advisory Committee. See Advisory Committee policy. Call 909.386.7706 with questions.


Gwendolyn Dowdy-Rodgers, EdD, Chair
Community Development Specialist, Pacific Clinics
San Bernardino County Board of Education Trustee, Area D

James Moses, Vice Chair
Child Care Resource Center

Edyth Gallardo
Inland Regional Center

Cherina Betters, Ed.D.
San Bernardino County Superintendent of Schools

Jacquelyn Greene
Preschool Services Department

Michelle Parker
Loma Linda Children’s Hospital & Medical Center

Sonia Navarro
Department of Behavioral Health

Cammy Purper, Ph.D.
California Baptist University

Pat Spier, RN
Regional Perinatal Programs of California

Michael Wells
Boys & Girls Clubs of Greater Redlands-Riverside

Monique Amis
Department of Public Health

Jonathan Byers
Children and Family Services

George Lamb
FAITH Advisory Council for Community Transformation

Nathaniel Rodriguez
Transitional Assistance Department

Reyna Sanchez
Parent Advocate

Chrystina Smith-Rasshan, Ed.D.
Institute for Child Development and Family Relations

Gary Ovitt
Retired Teacher and Principal
Former Fourth District Supervisor,
San Bernardino County Board of Supervisors